The number of states where medical marijuana is legally available, or where marijuana is being decriminalized, is steadily increasing. Legalization of recreational marijuana, however, is moving at a much slower pace. For a legal high, you have to go to one of four states and a district where recreational marijuana is legalized – Alaska, Oregon, Washington, Colorado, or the District of Columbia. But even there you’d have to know the lay of the land to make sure you don’t step over the boundaries of any state regulations.
In Washington, you’re allowed to have up to one ounce of marijuana, intended for personal use, if you’re legally an adult and you don’t enjoy your buds in public. You cannot sell or distribute marijuana, you cannot grow your own marijuana, and you’re able to have up to 16 ounces of marijuana-infused solid product, or 72 ounces of marijuana-infused liquid product. You can only buy marijuana legally from regulated, state-licensed entities.
You can have up to one ounce of marijuana on you in Colorado, and you can transport it if you’re not doing it for money. You do have to be at least 21 years old for these regulations to apply to you, and you can’t display or enjoy your pot in public. You can grow up to 6 plants, and you can’t sell marijuana at all in the state. You can also possess up to one ounce of hash, but possession of marijuana-related paraphernalia is a petty offense and is punishable by a fine of up to $100.
In Alaska, adults can have up to one ounce of marijuana on their person, and up to 6 ounces in their place of residence. They cannot, however, have any marijuana on their person if they are within 500 feet of a school. Sale is illegal, but you can grow up to 25 plants in your place of residence.
It’s a misdemeanor to possess up to one ounce of marijuana in Oregon, punishable by a maximum fine of $650. Giving someone less than 5 ounces of marijuana without compensation is punishable by a fine of up to $1000. It’s illegal to grow marijuana in Oregon.
District of Columbia
In the District of Columbia, you can have up to 2 ounces or up to 6 plants of marijuana legally, if you’re over 21 years of age. It is also legal to sell paraphernalia to persons older than 21.